2007-11-18 - Ariane launchArianespace boosts Skynet 5B and Star One C1 into orbit

Neuer Nutzlastrekord für Ariane 5ECA<br /> On Wednesday evening, November 14, Arianespace boosted two satellites into geostationary transfer orbit (GTO): the Astrium Paradigm Skynet 5B military communications satellite for the British Ministry of Defence (MoD), and the Star One C1 commercial communications satellite built by Thales Alenia Space for Brazilian operator Star One.

35th Ariane 5 launch, 21st success in a row, and a new payload weight record of more than 8,700 kg. One more Ariane 5 launch is scheduled by the end of the year.
The launch of Skynet 5B clearly reflects Arianespace's strategic role in guaranteeing independent access to space for European governments. Skynet 5A is the European launcher's 28th military payload. Arianespace has already orbited Skynet 4B, 4C, 4E, 4F and 5A for the British MoD and NATO. Arianespace's backlog of orders includes one more MoD satellite, Skynet 5C. Star One C1 is the seventh Brazilian satellite launched by Arianespace. Star One is the largest regional satellite service operator in Latin America. Arianespace has one more satellite to be launched for the Brazilian operator, Star One C2.
The mission was carried out by an Ariane 5 ECA launcher from Europe's Spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana. Liftoff was on Wednesday, November 14, at 7:06 pm local time in Kourou (22:06 UT, 8:06 pm in Rio de Janeiro, 5:06 pm in Washington, DC, and 11:06 pm in Paris). Provisional parameters at injection of the Ariane 5's cryogenic upper stage (ESC-A) were: Perigee: 250 km for a target of 250 km (+/-4); Apogee: 35,953 km for a target of 35,786 km (+/-240); Inclination: 6.00 degrees for a target of 6.00 degrees (+/-0.06 degrees).

  • Hersteller


  • Typ

    Bitte Hersteller auswählen!

FLUG REVUE 11/2016


Einzelheft bestellen

- Trägertests F-35C
- Ins Eis mit Air Greenland
- Airbus A350 Lufthansa
- HondaJet HA-420
- Boeing T-X
- Parabelflugzeug A310 Zero-G
- Vorschau AIRTEC

aerokurier iPad-App